Longing for the Past

I am sitting here checking out organists on youtube. Why? Because I used to play and one in particular made me wish I had never left. This bishop in he video below plays with the same fervency with which I played as a teenager. I don’t know, there was something about the B3 that just made me want to play all day.

I taught myself acually. I wanted to play so bad until I would pretend to be going to church to clean up, get the key and turn it on when no one else was around. unfortunately, I used to blow out the “leslie” and I have to lie and say that I never touched it of course. I got caught a few times. But when grandpa noticed a nice sound, he turned a blind eye and would allow me to play. Evenutally, I started playing every now and then when the main organist wasn’t around. I was never THAT good, but I could hold the fort down and it was all about heart.

This organist makes me wish I had never left.

Leave a comment